The Thought of Sacrifice

When you hear the word sacrifice, what comes to your mind?

We all have to make sacrifices in life.  Whether or not the sacrifices we make are one that we agree with, sometimes we have to give up something in order to help others who are less fortunate.

When’s the last time you made a sacrifice?  What is the sacrifice beneficial?  As I look back at the last couple years of my life, I can think of a lot of sacrifices that I have made that I felt would provide rewarding returns.  A majority of my sacrifices have been made for my family.  Honestly, I feel that when I need to make a choice in spite of what feels good to me, sometimes I initially don’t like the thought of making the choice.  However, once I see the good that my sacrifice has given, I feel good inside.

Think about this question:  Would you make the ultimate sacrifice for someone you love dearly?  Knowing that you would end up losing your own life, and knowing that you are making the choice to eventually protect/defend your loved ones, would you do it?

Think about the movie Seven Pounds for example.  The main character, Ben Thomas (Will Smith), ends up making the ultimate sacrifice in order to benefit other around him.  His organs were donated to others in order to help overcome their physical shortcomings.  Now, I understand that Ben Thomas’ circumstances that led up to his ultimate sacrifice was a little different, but the point is that he made a choice to better others.

Speaking of making a choice to better others, this brings up the thought of Utilitarianism.  Utilitarians aim to increase the amount of pleasure while minimizing suffering of other people.    Could a sacrifice that is set to increase pleasure (or good) for others around you be classified as a utilitarian effort?

In closing, we all make sacrifices.  Think of the sacrifices that your parents made in order to make sure you didn’t make the same mistakes they made when they were younger.  Think about other people who make sacrifices for you, whether you know it or not.

“Great achievement is usually born of great sacrifice, and is never the result of selfishness.” – Napoleon Hill

Leave a Reply

