Undervalued & Overlooked Music Artists

The above album artwork is from Raheem Devaughn’s debut album The Love Experience. I just got finished listening to one of his songs off the album called “Breathe”.  During the middle of the song, I thought to myself, “Why didn’t Raheem Devaughn get more exposure to the listeners of music community?”  Why are people still asking who is Raheem Devaughn to this day?”  I quickly realized that Raheem Devaughn is and will continue to be an undervalued artist within the R&B genre due to the inability to fit the “criteria” to be a commercial success.  Ironically enough, iTunes started playing Mint Condition – Pretty Lady (feat. Charlie Wilson), who has overlooked by many listeners for the last 20 years.  The same questions that I asked regarding Raheem Devaughn I applied to Mint Condition with pretty much the same answers.

Remember Lathun?  You know, the one who sung “Fortunate”?  I guess you probably don’t, since a lot of people don’t remember who he is.  This is one of my favorite songs of all time.  Unfortunately, he only had one album and quickly faded out of the music scene.  Here is his song here:

What about Remy Shand who came out with the album The Way I Feel? Some of you might remember this song.  Where was his shining light?

Now, I understand that some artists are overlooked because they might not make quality music.  However, the above artists deliver nothing but quality music. Here are some other artists who I feel should have received more commercial success for their ability to deliver excellent quality music:

-Anthony Hamilton, R&B artist
-AZ, Hip-Hop artist
-Chamillionaire, Hip-Hop artist
-Common, Hip-Hop artist
-Egypt Central, Rock group
-Marsha Ambrosius, R&B artist
-Little Brother, Hip Hop group
-Kem, R&B artist
-Goapele, R&B artist
-The Roots, Hip-Hop group

I know there’s a lot more artists/groups that I am missing, but I’ll leave it up to you to think of some more names.

One Response to Undervalued & Overlooked Music Artists

  1. Thank you very much for sharing this. I have subscribed to your RSS feed. Please keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

